Skip to content

2023 The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction

From a shortlist of books spanning ballet, climate change, cultural revolutions, European history, the power of music and health scandals, John Vaillant's "meticulously researched, thrillingly told" Fire Weather: A True Story From A Hotter World, was named winner of the 2023 Prize. 

Entries opened

17 April 2023

Longlist announced

6 September 2023

Shortlist announced

8 October 2023

Winner & prize ceremony

16 November 2023

What the judges said

"‘Fire Weather' brings together a series of harrowing human stories with science and geo economics, in an extraordinary and elegantly rendered account of a terrifying climate disaster"

John Vaillant on what he hopes readers take away from 'Fire Weather'
John Vaillant, winner of the 2023 Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction

View the gallery of the prize-giving ceremony

Meet the judges for 2023

The longlist, shortlist and winner is chosen by a panel of independent judges, which changes every year

Frederick Studemann

Literary Editor at the Financial Times

Arifa Akbar

Theatre critic for The Guardian

Andrew Haldane

Chief Executive of the Royal Society of Arts

Tanjil Rashid

Journalist and critic

Ruth Scurr

Writer and historian

Andrea Wulf

Award winning author

More about the judges