Sign up to the Newsletter for the latest news from the Baillie Gifford Prize

You are here


The Baillie Gifford Prize aims to reward the best of non-fiction and is open to authors of any nationality. It covers all non-fiction in the areas of current affairs, history, politics, science, sport, travel, biography, autobiography and the arts.

Formerly known as The Samuel Johnson Prize (1999 – 2015) it is the most prestigious non-fiction prize in the UK, worth £50,000 to the winner.

Historically, The NCR Book Award for Non-Fiction ran for 10 years from 1987 to 1997 and The Samuel Johnson Prize launched in 1999 taking over where the NCR Award left off.  In 2016 Baillie Gifford, the Edinburgh-based investment management partnership, became the sponsor of The Samuel Johnson Prize and the award was renamed The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-fiction. 

Sponsoring the prize continues Baillie Gifford’s long tradition of supporting literary and cultural events. “Our long-term commitment to the prize reflects our aim to make a real difference in the world of literature. This eminent award works perfectly with our other literary relationships and wider philanthropic programme which supports the arts, academia and local communities,” says Nick Thomas, Partner at Baillie Gifford. “We enjoy working with the prize organisers and will continue to advance its motto that ‘all the best stories are true’.”