Skip to content

2020 The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction

Announced at a digital ceremony, Craig Brown was crowned the winner of the 22nd edition of the prize with his book One Two Three Four: The Beatles in Time. Historical works dominated the shortlist, with former winner Kate Summerscale making the list with her book 'The Haunting of Alma Fielding'.

Longlist announced

10 September 2020

Shortlist announced

15 October 2020

Winner & prize ceremony

24 November 2020

What the judges said

“One Two Three Four is a joyous, irreverent, insightful celebration of The Beatles, a highly original take on familiar territory. It’s also a profound book about success and failure.”

The 2020 winner announcement

View the gallery of the prize-giving ceremony

The 2020 shortlist
What the judges said

"In 2020 we certainly learned that truth is stranger than fiction and our shortlist shows the sheer power of real life stories. From brain science to Beatlemania, Shoguns to suburban poltergeists, sex slavery to slave rebellions, this is our eclectic lockdown library."

The 2020 longlist
What the judges said

"We have managed to agree on thirteen exceptional books which reflect the creative power of 21st century non-fiction from new writers to accomplished authors, spanning war, art, science, history, ghosts and The Beatles."

The 2020 longlist

Meet the judges for 2020

The longlist, shortlist and winner is chosen by a panel of independent judges, which changes every year.

Martha Kearney

Former presenter of BBC Radio 4’s The World at One

Shahidha Bari

Presenter of BBC 2’s Inside Culture, BBC Radio 3’s Free Thinking and Front Row

Simon Ings

Former Culture Editor at New Scientist

Leo Robson

Winner of the 2019 Best Arts+ Culture Story at the Foreign Press Association Awards

Max Strasser

Assistant Editor at The New York Times

Bee Wilson

Writer of the ‘Table Talk’ column for The Wall Street Journal

More about the judges