Skip to content

2002 The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction

Chaired by David Dimbleby, the fourth edition of the prize reflected a year of high quality non-fiction publishing, with a diverse and exciting range of titles spanning history, biography and science.

Longlist announced

17 May 2002

Shortlist announced

7 June 2002

Winner & prize ceremony

24 June 2002

What the judges said

“A book which challenges the conventional view of the Versailles Conference, whilst bringing vividly to life an extraordinary event which shaped the 20th century and still resonates today”

Margaret MacMillan with her winning book 'Peacemakers'

Meet the judges for 2002

The longlist, shortlist and winner is chosen by a panel of independent judges, which changes every year

David Dimbleby

Former Chairman of BBC 1’s Question Time

Richard Fortley

2007 President of the Geological Society of London

Caroline Gascoigne

Author of Temptation and Evelyn Harcourt

Bonnie Greer

Fellow of The Royal Society of Literature

Robert Harris

2010 Winner of Best Screenwriter at the European Film Awards

More about the judges