Skip to content

The Prize announces increased prize pot and 2023 dates

10 July 2023

Today, Monday 10 July, the Prize announces the 2023 prize cycle dates, and an increased prize pot for authors shortlisted for the Prize.

As part of the celebrations marking the Prize’s 25th anniversary, it has been decided that as well as the winning author receiving £50,000, the other shortlisted authors will receive £5,000 (up from £1,000), bringing the total prize value up to £75,000.

Designed to recognise and reward the best of non-fiction, the Prize is open to authors of any nationality. It covers all non-fiction in the areas of current affairs, history, politics, science, sport, travel, biography, autobiography and the arts.

The longlist for the 2023 Prize will be announced at 9am on Wednesday 6 September, via desk release and on the Baillie Gifford Prize website and social channels.

The 12 books on the longlist will be chosen by this year’s judges: Literary Editor of the Financial Times, Frederick Studemann (chair); award-winning author, Andrea Wulf; theatre critic for The Guardian, Arifa Akbar; writer and historian, Ruth Scurr; journalist and critic, Tanjil Rashid; and Chief Executive of the Royal Society of Arts, Andrew Haldane.

Other key dates:

Shortlist: Sunday 8 October

The announcement of the six books shortlisted for this year’s prize will take place in a live event at Cheltenham Literature Festival. In addition to this, there will be a special Baillie Gifford Prize podcast which will air after the event.

Winner: Thursday 16 November
The winner will be announced at an award ceremony at the Science Museum generously supported by the Blavatnik Foundation. This winner announcement will also be livestreamed across the Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction social channels.

Last year’s winner was Katherine Rundell for Super-Infinite: The Transformations of John Donne, which became a Sunday Times top ten bestseller.

The prize cycle dates for 2023