Skip to content

2017 The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction

The 19th edition of the prize hosted an international list of books, with the UK, US, Morocco, Bulgaria, and Ireland all represented. The titles chosen by the judging panel, chaired by Sir Peter Bazalgette, ranged from literary biography and history to popular science, memoir and polemic.

Longlist announced

8 September 2017

Shortlist announced

6 October 2017

Winner & prize ceremony

16 November 2017

The winner of the 2017 prize
What the judges said

“It’s the personal story of a gay man, the history of the prejudice that gay men faced during the AIDS epidemic and the worldwide scientific story of the search for a treatment for AIDS.”

David France with Sir Peter Bazalgette
The 2017 shortlist
What the judges said

“The exceptional shortlist for the 2017 Baillie Gifford Prize covers religion, culture, science and sexuality... and that’s just for starters. But what all the six books have in common is that they’re incredibly well-written, they’re really enjoyable and they tell great stories.”

The 2017 longlist
What the judges said

"We’ve got history, science, biography, polemic and memoir. But two things link them all – they’re wonderfully well-written and they’re really contemporary.”

Meet the judges for 2017

The longlist, shortlist and winner is chosen by a panel of independent judges, which changes every year

Sir Peter Bazalgette

Former Chairman of the Royal Television Society

Anjana Ahuja

Science Commentator at the Financial Times

Ian Bostridge

Nominated for 15 Grammys

Sarah Churchwell

Longlisted for the Orwell Prize for Journalism

Razia Iqbal

BBC News journalist and former presenter of Newshour

More about the judges