Skip to content

2016 The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction

The 18th edition of the prize saw Baillie Gifford take over from Samuel Johnson as sponsors. Pulitzer and Nobel Prize winners, and a writer previously shortlisted for the Booker Prize populated the nominated books in 2016, with a majority of the authors bringing a personal perspective to subjects as diverse as international law and the human genome.

Longlist announced

21 September 2016

Shortlist announced

17 October 2016

Winner & prize ceremony

15 November 2016

The 2016 winner
What the judges said

"A multi-layered history that is impressive in its own right but also a satisfying, suspenseful read. A stunning achievement."

Philipe Sands at the winners ceremony

View the gallery of the prize-giving ceremony

The shortlist

A prestigious shortlist of books are selected each year for the prize.

The 2016 shortlist
What the judges said

"There are voices and stories in these books that we haven't heard before and which are going to stay with me for a very long time.”

The 2016 longlist
What the judges said

“Each of these ten very different books takes you on a journey that is as engrossing and imaginative as any novel. They aim high, and deliver. I am not looking forward to having to choose between them.”

Meet the judges for 2016

The longlist, shortlist and winner is chosen by a panel of independent judges, which changes every year

Stephanie Flanders

Head of Bloomberg News Economics

Philip Ball

Former editor of Nature journal

Jonathan Derbyshire

Executive opinion editor of the Financial Times

Sophie Ratcliffe

Professor of Literature and Creative Criticism at the University of Oxford

Rohan Silva

Co-Founder of Second Home

More about the judges