Skip to content

2012 The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction

Announced on the birthday of the prize sponsor's namesake Samuel Johnson, the longlist of the 14th edition of the prize took readers across the world to countries including India, Russia and Spain, and span subjects as diverse as economics, feathers, and nuclear power.

Longlist announced

18 September 2012

Shortlist announced

5 October 2012

Winner & prize ceremony

12 November 2012

The 2012 winner announcement
What the judges said

“This fascinating historical narrative of a great adventure manages to shed new light on events and stories we thought we already knew. It’s an exciting story of human endeavour imbued with deep historical significance”

Wade Davis with his winning book 'Into the Silence'

View the gallery of the prize-giving ceremony

What the judges said

“These are significant books which have the ability to change our view of the world and which we believe will make a lasting contribution to their genres."

Meet the judges for 2012

The longlist, shortlist and winner is chosen by a panel of independent judges, which changes every year

The Rt Hon David Willetts MP

Former Conservative politician

Patrick French

Winner of the Somerset Maugham Award

Paul Laity

Non-Fiction books editor at The Guardian

Bronwen Maddox

Former Chief Foreign Commentator and Foreign Editor of The Times

Professor Raymond Tallis

Philosopher, poet and clinical neurologist

More about the judges