Skip to content

2006 The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction

The eighth edition of the prize included a flamboyant biography of a self-proclaimed Muslim prince, an engrossing account of Soviet-U.S. relations from WWII to the collapse of the U.S.S.R., an intimate and personal reflection of a man’s life written when he thought he was dying, lively biography of the first domestic diva of the modern age, Mrs. Beeton, and an evocative ‘blog’ by an anonymous woman in war torn Iraq.

Longlist announced

27 March 2006

Shortlist announced

24 May 2006

Winner & prize ceremony

14 June 2006

What the judges said

“In terms of its originality, the sheer pleasure and unusual insight into the kind of person Shakespeare was and what he wrote is immense”

James Shapiro with his winning book '1599: A Year in the Life of William Shakespeare'

View the gallery of the prize-giving ceremony

What the judges said

"These are 6 books which will appeal greatly to the reader and together cover the widest possible range; from reflections on contemporary society, new insights into well-known history, political analysis and the frailties of humanity.”

Meet the judges for 2006

The longlist, shortlist and winner is chosen by a panel of independent judges, which changes every year

Professor Lord Winston

1999 winner of the British Medical Association Gold Award for Medicine in the Media

Sir Richard Eyre

Winner of five Olivier Awards

Pankaj Mishra

2014 winner of the Windham-Campbell Prize for Non-Fiction

Christina Odone

Formerly Deputy Editor of the New Statesman

Michael Prodger

Former literary editor of the Sunday Telegraph

More about the judges