Skip to content

The Prize announces its judges for 2023

25 May 2023

Today, 23 May 2023, The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction announces the full judging panel for the 2023 award.

Chair of judges Frederick Studemann, Literary Editor of Financial Times, will be joined by award-winning author Andrea Wulf, theatre critic for The Guardian Arifa Akbar, the writer and historian Ruth Scurr, journalist and critic Tanjil Rashid and Chief Executive of the Royal Society of Arts Andrew Haldane.

The submissions for this year’s prize are now open. Publishers have until June 17 to enter up to three non-fiction books per imprint with publication dates between 1 November 2022 and 31 October 2023.

Chair of judges Frederick Studemann says: “I am delighted to be chairing such a distinguished panel of judges that brings together a wide range of expert and original voices. I have long been a fan of the Baillie Gifford Prize, one of the preeminent literary prizes in the English-speaking world. We are living through something of a golden age of non-fiction with lots of new and different writers having the opportunity to tell their stories and I look forward to reading and debating their work with my fellow judges.”

The winner of the prize will be announced on 16 November 2023, following the shortlist announcement in October and longlist in September.

The prize aims to recognise and reward the best of non-fiction and is open to authors of any nationality. It covers all non-fiction in the areas of current affairs, history, politics, science, sport, travel, biography, autobiography and the arts.

The 2023 awards event, taking place at the Science Museum, London is generously supported by the Blavatnik Family Foundation.