Skip to content


The Prize is managed by a Board of Directors and administered by Four Agency.

The Board comprises:

  • Sir Peter Bazalgette, Chair of Creative Industries Council and RCA (Chair)
  • Toby Mundy (Prize Director)
  • Ailah Ahmed (Publishing Director, Penguin Random House)
  • Caroline Daniel (Partner, Brunswick)
  • Peter Florence (Founder of Hay Festivals)
  • Dotti Irving (Culture Consultant)
  • Rosamund McCarthy (Partner at Stone King)
  • Peter Straus (Literary agent, Rogers, Coleridge and White)
  • Frederick Studemann (Literary Editor, Financial Times)
  • Robert Yates (Assistant Editor, The Observer)

The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction is run by the Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-Fiction Limited (which was also the prize’s name until 2016).

The Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-Fiction Limited’s company details are as follows:

Registered name: The Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-Fiction Limited

Company number 04389133

Registered in London, UK

C/O Four Agency Worldwide, The Hickman, 2 Whitechapel Road, London, E1 1FX


IRVING, Dorothy Sheila

Co Sec: Bates Wells Braithwaite Co Sec