Skip to content

2024 The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction

Get ready for another year of brilliant non-fiction with this year's judges, chaired by Isabel Hilton, for the 26th edition of the Prize. Keep your eyes peeled for more information...

Entries opened

4 April 2024

Longlist announced

5 September 2024

Shortlist announced

10 October 2024

Winner & prize ceremony

19 November 2024

Meet the judges for 2024

The longlist, shortlist and winner is chosen by a panel of independent judges, which changes every year.

Isabel Hilton

Journalist, broadcaster and founder of China Dialogue

Heather Brooke

Investigative journalist, writer and former academic

Alison Flood

Culture and comment editor at New Scientist

Peter Hoskin

Books & culture editor at Prospect Magazine

Tomiwa Owolade

Journalist and author

Chitra Ramaswamy

Author and journalist

More about the judges