Skip to content

2019 The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction

The 21st edition of the prize saw the first-ever majority female shortlist, with five of the six authors being written by women. There was an emphasis on books focussing on people's stories; from hidden lives to new perspectives on major figures.

Longlist announced

12 September 2019

Shortlist announced

22 October 2019

Winner & prize ceremony

19 November 2019

The 2019 winner
What the judges said

“It was beautifully written and impressively researched; and more broadly it spoke with an urgency and passion to our own times. Brilliance meeting relevance.”

The 2019 winners ceremony at the Science Museum, London

View the gallery of the prize-giving ceremony

The 2019 shortlist
What the judges said

"We've ended up with a shortlist full of brilliance and verve, huge scope and evocative detail. I urge everyone to get reading these books. They will not be disappointed."

The 2019 shortlist
The 2019 longlist
What the judges said

"They are companionable: stories to which you are happy to turn and return, some with contemporary resonances, others that are more timeless."

The 2019 longlist

Meet the judges for 2019

The longlist, shortlist and winner is chosen by a panel of independent judges, which changes every year.

Stig Abell

Former editor of the Times Literary Supplement

Robert Douglas Fairhurst

Winner of the 2011 Duff Cooper Prize

Dr Myriam Francois

Winner of the 2021 Women in Media Award at the Muslin Women Awards

Petina Gappah

Winner of 2009 Guardian First Book Award

Dr Xand van Tulleken

British Doctor and TV presenter

Frances Wilson

Reviewer for The Times Literary Supplement, The Spectator, New Statesman and The Guardian

More about the judges