Skip to content

2018 The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction

2018, and the 20th edition of the prize, saw a collection of books that illuminated the contemporary preoccupations with identity, artificial intelligence, man-made environmental disaster, and relations with Russia and China.

Shortlist announced

2 October 2018

Winner & prize ceremony

14 November 2018

The 2018 winner announcement
What the judges said

“It is a horror story – of political cynicism and scientific ignorance – in which the world was saved only by heroism and luck.”

Serhii Plokhy with chair of judges Fiammetta Rocco

View the gallery of the prize-giving ceremony

The 2018 shortlist
What the judges said

"We have read about history and war and science and spying. And along the way we’ve been thrilled, jolted, consoled, informed and illuminated.”

The 2018 shortlist

Meet the judges for 2018

The longlist, shortlist and winner is chosen by a panel of independent judges, which changes every year.

Fiammetta Rocco

Senior Editor and Culture Correspondent at The Economist

Susan Brigden

Winner of the 2013 Wolfson History Prize

Stephen Bush

Columinist and associate editor of The Financial Times

Dr Anne-Marie Imafidon

President of the British Science Association

Nigel Warburton

Author and Philosopher

More about the judges