Skip to content

2013 The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction

In a year when non-fiction was outselling fiction, the judges, chaired by cosmologist and astrophysicist Martin Rees, selected a list of books spanning thousands of years of history and tell the stories of people from diverse worlds including politics, exploration, and fashion.

Longlist announced

6 September 2013

Shortlist announced

30 September 2013

Winner & prize ceremony

4 November 2013

Q&A with Lucy Hughes-Hallett
What the judges said

“Her original experimentation with form transcends the conventions of biography. And they will be transfixed by her vivid portrayal of D'Annunzio - how this repellent egotist quickly gained literary celebrity.”

Lucy Hughes-Hallett with her winning book 'The Pike'

View the gallery of the prize-giving ceremony

What the judges said

"The authors have conveyed specialised (and in some cases unfamiliar) subjects in a refreshing and readable way, revealing new perspectives.”

What the judges said

The range of titles on the list reflects the welcome diversity and quality of non-fiction writing. We're confident that readers will find much to admire and enjoy in these original, enlightening and thought-provoking books.”

Meet the judges for 2013

The longlist, shortlist and winner is chosen by a panel of independent judges, which changes every year

Martin Rees

Astronomer Royal

Mary Beard

Scholar and classics editor of The Times Literary Supplement

Shami Chakrabarti

Former director of Liberty in the Labour party

Peter Hennessy

Historian and academic specialising in the history of government

James McConnachie

Former Advisory Fellow for the Royal Literary Fund

More about the judges