Skip to content

2008 The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction

In the 10th year of the prize, chair of judges Rosie Boycott was joined by an eclectic panel of judges offering a range of literary, journalistic, and academic experience. The list of nominated books included a daring and adventurous journey down the Congo, a discourse on life and death, the biography of an enigmatic genius, V.S. Naipaul, and a dark and grim account of The Troubles.

Longlist announced

16 April 2008

Shortlist announced

15 May 2008

Winner & prize ceremony

15 July 2008

What the judges said

“The Suspicions of Mr Whicher is a dramatic page-turning detective yarn of a real-life murder that inspired the birth of modern detective fiction.”

Kate Summerscale with Kirsty Warh

View the gallery of the prize-giving ceremony

What the judges said

"All six books are ones which changed the way we looked at the world, they are all ones we are eager to pass onto others."

Meet the judges for 2008

The longlist, shortlist and winner is chosen by a panel of independent judges, which changes every year

Rosie Boycott

Former editor of Esquire

Claire Armitstead

Associate Editor (Culture) at The Guardian

Daljit Nagra

Winner of the 2007 Forward Poetry Prize for Best First Poetry Collection

Professor Chris Rapley

2008 winner of the Edinburgh Science Medal

Hannah Rothschild

First female to chair the Board of Trustees of the National Gallery

More about the judges