Skip to content

2005 The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction

From 130 entries and 43 call-ins, the 20 titles nominated for the 2005 prize ranged widely in subject matter. There are were fewer than three books about cities, two impressive first books, five historical biographies, two science books and a tribute to the art of gardening.

Longlist announced

20 April 2005

Shortlist announced

12 May 2005

Winner & prize ceremony

14 June 2005

What the judges said

“He has brought marvellously to life not only B.S. Johnson - a brilliant and difficult man who wrote only seven novels – but the grim side of struggling to succeed in literary London in the Sixties”

Jonathan Coe with his winning book 'Like a Fiery Elephant'

View the gallery of the prize-giving ceremony

What the judges said

"We have murder, intrigue, high art and impassioned portraits of two of the world’s greatest cities. And it's heartening for the future of non-fiction publishing that half the list is made up of books by first time authors."

Meet the judges for 2005

The longlist, shortlist and winner is chosen by a panel of independent judges, which changes every year

Sue MacGregor

Former presenter of Woman’s Hour and the Today programme

Marcus du Sautoy

Winner of the 2001 Berwick Prize by London Mathematical Society

Andrew Holgate

Former literary editor of The Sunday Times

Maria Misra

Author of Business, Race and Politics in British India and Vishnu’s Crowded Temple

John Simpson

1996 winner of the RTS award for International Current Affair

More about the judges