Skip to content

2004 The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction

The sixth edition of the prize saw "grand sweep history", "left-of-field travelogues" and "unexpected oddities" making the list of nominated books.

Longlist announced

19 March 2004

Shortlist announced

4 May 2004

Winner & prize ceremony

15 June 2004

What the judges said

“An intimate portrait - both touching and funny - of survivors caught between their desire to forget and the need to remember.”

Anna Funder with her winning book 'Stasiland'

View the gallery of the prize-giving ceremony

What the judges said

"They seem to me to encapsulate the best in current British non-fiction, but with a strong international flavour too."

Meet the judges for 2004

The longlist, shortlist and winner is chosen by a panel of independent judges, which changes every year

Michael Wood

Author of In Search of the Dark Ages and The Story of England

Aminatta Forna

2011 winner of the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize for Best Book

Martha Kearney

Former presenter of BBC Radio 4’s The World at One

Simon Singh

Winner of the 2006 Science Writing Award

Francis Wheen

1997 Columnist of the Year at the What the Papers Say awards

More about the judges