Skip to content

2001 The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction

In the third edition of the prize, the shortlisted books included three outstanding biographies, a re-examination of the Third Reich, evolution explained through the eyes of a crustacean-like animal, and an investigation of the catalogue of death and destruction in twentieth century Russia.

Longlist announced

1 May 2001

Shortlist announced

22 May 2001

Winner & prize ceremony

12 June 2001

What the judges said

“Here was something both urgent and magisterial and a book that as judges we wanted to read and recommend. It is a work of authentic historical genius”

Meet the judges for 2001

The longlist, shortlist and winner is chosen by a panel of independent judges, which changes every year

Andrew Marr

Host of The Andrew Marr show

Niall Ferguson

Voted one of Time magazine's 100 most influential people in the world in 2004

Steve Jones

Winner of the 1996 Michaell Faraday Prize

Annalena McAfee

Former Arts and Literary Editor of the Financial Times

Suzanna Taverne

Former Managing Director of the British Museum

More about the judges