Skip to content

Meet the judges for 2000

The longlist, shortlist and winner is chosen by a panel of independent judges, which changes every year.

Nigella Lawson

Nigella Lawson (Chair) has been a successful and prolific journalist and broadcaster working on the Sunday Times, Evening Standard, Guardian, Daily Telegraph and in America for Gourmet and Bon Appetit magazines. She originated the restaurant column in The Spectator and since 1995 she has been food writer for Vogue. She writes a column for The Observer. In 1998 she was a judge of the Booker Prize. Her bestselling book, How to Eat: The pleasures and principles of good food was published to critical acclaim in 1998.

Timothy Garten Ash

Timothy Garton Ash is an historian and writer and Fellow of St Antony’s College, Oxford. He is the author of several books including History of the Present, The File andWe The People. He is a regular contributor to the Independent and the New York Review of Books. His television series, Freedom’s Battle, was screened to coincide with the tenth anniversary of the 1989 revolutions.

Stephen Fry

Stephen Fry was educated at Queen’s College, Cambridge where he joined the Footlights and performed in the Mayweek Review of 1981 with Emma Thompson and Hugh Laurie. He now has numerous television and film credits to his name. Television appearances include The Young Ones, Blackadders II and III, Jeeves and Wooster, Cold Comfort Farm, The Thin Blue Line and most recently Gormenghast for the BBC. Film credits include A Fish Called Wanda, Peter’s Friends and Wilde, in which he played the title role. He has written the screenplay of Evelyn Waugh’s Vile Bodies which he will direct this year. His first novel, The Liar, was a bestseller. His other books include Paperweight, The Hippopotamus and most recently Moab is my Washpot.

Susan Greenfield

Susan Greenfield is Professor of Pharmacology at Oxford, where she heads a multi-disciplinary group studying non-classical mechanisms underlying neurodegenerative disorders. 1998 she became Director of the Royal Institution - the first woman to hold this office in the Royal Institution's 200 year history. She received the Michael Faraday medal from the Royal Society for making the most significant contribution in 1998 to the public understanding of science. Susan has been awarded eleven Honorary Degrees, and received the CBE in the year 2000 New Year's Honours List. She is currently preparing a major six-part series on the brain and mind, to be broadcast on BBC2 in June 2000.

Baroness Helena Kennedy

Baroness Helena Kennedy QC practises predominantly in the criminal law, having acted in many leading British cases including the Brighton Bombing Trial and the Guildford Four Appeal. She is Chair of the British Council, the Human Genetics Commission and is on the Advisory Council of the World Bank Institute. She is Chair of the London International Festival of Theatre and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts. A frequent broadcaster and journalist on law and women’s rights, she created the BBC television series Blind Justice in 1987.= She was the first female moderator of the BBC’s Hypotheticals and continues to present them. Her award-winning book on women in the British criminal justice system, Eve Was Framed, was published in 1992.

View prize year