Skip to content

1999 The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction

In the first ever year of the Samuel Johnson Prize, Antony Beevor was crowned winner with his book Stalingrad, which went on to become a number one best-seller, and one of the most celebrated books of 1999. 148 books were entered, spanning genres such as biography, business and economics, and history

Longlist announced

16 April 1999

Winner & prize ceremony

14 June 1999

What the judges said

“Stalingrad is stunning history. It is meticulous and original. Above all it speaks directly to its readers with force and a luminous humanity”

View the gallery of the prize-giving ceremony

Meet the judges for 1999

The longlist, shortlist and winner is chosen by a panel of independent judges, which changes every year

James Naughtie

Previously chief political correspondent of The Guardian and The Scotsman

Cherie Booth

Fellow of Advanced Legal Studies

Orlando Figes

Winner of the 1997 WHS Smith Literary Award

Kate Summerscale

Winner of the 1998 Somerset Maugham Award

Professor Lewis Wolpert

Previous Chairman of the Committee for the Public Understanding of Science

More about the judges