Skip to content

The Prize announces its judges for 2024

4 April 2024

Today, Thursday 4 April, The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction announces the full judging panel for 2024.

The announcement coincides with the opening of submissions for this year’s prize. Publishers will have until 11 June to enter up to three non-fiction books per imprint with publication dates between 1 November 2023 and 31 October 2024.

Journalist, broadcaster and founder of China Dialogue, Isabel Hilton will chair the panel of judges for 2024.

She will be joined by author and investigative journalist Heather Brooke, comment and culture editor for New Scientist Alison Flood, culture editor of Prospect Peter Hoskin, writer and critic Tomiwa Owolade, and author and food and TV critic Chitra Ramaswamy.

Chair of judges, Isabel Hilton says:

“This is such an honour and a hugely exciting challenge. I am looking forward to rigorous and engaging debates on great books with this year’s brilliant judges.”

Toby Mundy, executive director of the Prize, says:

“Chaired by Isabel Hilton and comprising celebrated writers, critics, and journalists, this diverse group brings a breadth of perspectives and a depth of knowledge to the extraordinarily difficult — but I hope rewarding — process of selecting the very best non-fiction books of 2024. As they embark on this journey together, it's exciting to anticipate the selections this group will make in this, the Prize’s 26th year.”

The winner of the prize will be announced on November 19, following the shortlist announcement in October and longlist in September.

The prize aims to recognise and reward the best of non-fiction and is open to authors of any nationality. It covers all non-fiction in the areas of current affairs, history, politics, science, sport, travel, biography, autobiography and the arts.

The 2024 awards event, taking place at BMA House in London is generously supported by the Blavatnik Family Foundation.

The 2024 judges