Sign up to the Newsletter for the latest news from the Baillie Gifford Prize

You are here

Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction announces judges and opens submissions for 2021

Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction announces judges and opens submissions for 2021

Sunday Times literary editor Andrew Holgate will chair the Baillie Gifford Prize judging panel for the 2021 awards.

Andrew Holgate is joined by award winning novelist Sara Collins, the physicist, oceanographer, writer and broadcaster Dr Helen Czerski, the historian and critic Kathryn Hughes, author and TV and radio presenter Johny Pitts, and historian and writer Dominic Sandbrook.

The announcement coincides with the opening of submissions for this year’s prize. Publishers have until 12 June 2021 to enter up to three non-fiction books per imprint with publication dates between 1 November 2020 and 31 October 2021.  

Andrew Holgate says: "It's an easy thing to say, I know, but it really is such an honour to be asked to chair this year's Baillie Gifford prize, and I am so excited about working with the five superb writers and critics who have agreed to join me on the panel. There really is no other prize like the Baillie Gifford, which has both a fabulous heritage stretching back decades, and a unique role in offering an overview of the entire non-fiction world. As media continues to fracture, prizes have never been more important, and the Baillie Gifford is one of the very best of them."

Toby Mundy, director of the Baillie Gifford Prize says: ‘This is our seventh year with Baillie Gifford as our lead sponsor and the award continues to go from strength to strength. I cannot wait to see what this stellar group of judges, led by Andrew Holgate, choose.”

The winner of the 2021 prize will be announced on 16 November, following the shortlist announcement in October and longlist in September.

The prize aims to recognise and reward the best of non-fiction and is open to authors of any nationality. It covers all non-fiction in the areas of current affairs, history, politics, science, sport, travel, biography, autobiography and the arts.

The 2021 Awards Dinner is generously supported by the Blavatnik Family Foundation.


Caroline Sanderson, writer and Associate Editor...
Tonight Patrick Radden Keefe has been named the...
A sweeping, panoramic shortlist that ranges...
Patrick Radden Keefe, author of ‘Empire of Pain...